I call Bullshit

I saw this tweeted by the Hey, We’re Cooler Than You people of Creativity Magazine.  I, if you haven’t figured it out, am an extremely skeptical person.  I recycle diligently, but every Wednesday as I set out the bright blue bin with my empties, a dark thought passes through my head like a cloud:  “They don’t recycle these.  It’s bullshit.  All this ‘green’ shit is a fool’s errand. etc…”

So when the video starts and I read the words “We Need A Better Cleaner in a Smarter Bottle.”, I cringe.  Says who?  You? See?  Skeptic!

But then a compelling argument is made about how most cleaners we buy are mostly water and come in a plastic bottle that ends up in a landfill.  So the minds at Replenish come up with…a new REUSABLE BOTTLE…awesome? no?  Well, not really, because their bottle is part of a TWO PART system that relies on a snap off bottom that contains a liquid concentrate that makes the equivalent of 4 bottles of cleaner when you mix it with tap water you get out of your own faucet.

But this is where I call bullshit.  The concentrate comes in a… plastic container/pod!  Sort of negating the whole point.  Right?  They don’t have a problem with you buying plastic bottles.  They just want you to buy their plastic bottle or pods or whatever…

Couldn’t you sell the concentrate in little bi0-degradable single serve packs made out of paper (similar to a ketchup packet) and ask people to use one of the thousands of bottles they have under their kitchen sink already?  That seems greener to me.  That’s my two cents.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

